2017 Congressional Appreciation Luncheon

2018 VCOC Congressional Appreciation Luncheon

The 2018 VCOC Congressional Appreciation Luncheon was held at the Capitol Hill Club in Washington, D.C. on Wednesday, May 9th. COL Frank Wickersham, USMC (Ret), VCOC 3rd VP and chief organizer of the event, reported a highly successful event with 9 of the 13 elected legislators from Virginia in attendance including Senator Tim Kaine, Representative Rob Wittman (1st), Representative Scott Taylor (2nd), Representative Bobby Scott (3rd), Representative Thomas Garrett (5th), Representative Dave Brat (7th), Representative Don Beyer (8th), Representative Barbara Comstock (10th), and Representative Gerald Connolly (11th). COL Wickersham skillfully adjusted the program to allow each legislator to address the group from the podium as their schedules permitted. 

Also in attendance were 55 VCOC members and guests, 3 Virginia Department of Veterans Affairs senior staff, 17 MOAA HQ staff including CEO, LGEN Dana Atkins, 2 Patriots Colony representatives, and 12 Congressional aides for a grand total of 141 attendees. LGEN Dana Adkins provided a briefing of current events, plans and challenges for MOAA and our military community. He also responded to questions from the audience.

President Dan Warren, COL, USA (Ret) presented Representative Rob Wittman with the 2018 VCOC Legislator of the Year Award for his numerous accomplishments in support of the military and veteran community.
This highly successful event was possible thanks to the generosity of our friends from Patriots Colony in Williamsburg. Special thanks are also credited to MOAA Photographer, Bob Lennox, for the photos of our event.